Coast Guard Announces Appointments to National Boating Safety Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Coast Guard today announced the appointment of twenty individuals to serve as members of the National Boating Safety Advisory Committee (NBSAC).

The NBSAC was established on December 4, 2018, by § 601 of the Frank LoBiondo Coast Guard Authorization Act of 2018, Pub. L. No. 115-282, 132 Stat. 4192 and amended by § 8331 of the Elijah E. Cummings Coast Guard Authorization Act of 2020, Pub. L. No. 116-283.  That authority is codified in 46 U.S.C. § 15105.  

The NBSAC members are selected from disciplines within the following fields of expertise: State Boating Safety Programs, Recreational Vessel and Associated Equipment Manufacturers; and National Recreational Boating Organizations and the General Public. The new NBSAC members serve three-year terms on the Committee and provide advice and recommendations on matters relating to recreational boating safety to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security through the Coast Guard Commandant and the Assistant Commandant for Prevention Policy.

Membership is divided evenly among three membership categories in NBSAC:

  1. Seven representatives of State officials responsible for State boating safety programs
  2. Seven representatives of recreational vessel and associated equipment manufacturers
  3. Seven representatives of national recreational boating organizations and from the general public, and of the seven, at least five shall be representatives of national recreational boating organizations

Each member holds office for a term up to three years.

For more information about NBSAC, visit this webpage

The new members are:

NameOrganizational Affiliation
State Officials Responsible for State Boating Safety Programs
Lt. Mark A. BrownState of Oklahoma
Capt. Timothy C. DunleavyState of New Hampshire
Mr. Christopher Fallon State of New York
Mr. Thomas E. GuessCommonwealth of Virginia
Asst. Commander Cody Jones State of Texas
Conservation Officer Specialist Joseph KeetonState of South Dakota
Capt. Gary Klein State of Florida
Recreational Vessel And Associated Equipment Manufacturers
Mr. Peter A. ChisholmMercury Marine
Mr. Ralph E. HoskinsRegal Boats
Mr. David C. MarlowBrunswick Corporation
Ms. Christina M. Paul, Esq.K&L Gates, LLP
Dr. Wendy SandersExplico Engineering
Mr. David SlikkersS2 Yachts
National Recreational Boating Organizations & General Public
Mr. John S. Adey IVAmerican Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC)
Mr. Chris EdmonstonBOATUS Foundation for Boating Safety and Clean Water
Mr. John M. JohnsonNational Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA)
Ms. Caroline A. MantelBoat History Report
Ms. Peg B. PhillipsNational Safe Boating Council (NSBC)
Dr. Robin PopeAmerican Canoe Association (ACA)
Ms. Wanda Kenton SmithKenton Smith Marketing

Related Content

Boating Safety Print Ads

Various print ad campaigns have been employed to spread the word about safer boating practices.

Read More

Water Sports Foundation’s Inaugural Boating Safety National Public Relations Outreach Initiative Far Exceeds Expectations

A national public relations campaign by the nonprofit Water Sports Foundation has far exceeded preliminary expectations, generating more than 600 million positive boating safety media impressions over a five-month period, from April – August 2021.

Read More

Sea Tow Foundation Issues Official Call for Entry for 2021 “National Boating Industry Safety Awards”

The Sea Tow Foundation in cooperation with its newly rebranded Boating Safety Advisory Council (formerly North American Sober Skipper Advisory Council) has issued the official call for entry for its 2021 “National Boating Industry Safety Awards.”

Read More